Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

The Kiln House

Weymouth, Dorset (Ref. 1124162)

4.2

Dream Cottages rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

6 Customer Review(s)

  • Ailsa

    “The property is very bijou, and the owners have clearly taken a lot of care in selecting the prints, etc that adorn the walls.”

    The fresh flowers and biscuits were very welcome. The property is fairly well appointed, in the main, and was clean enough. However, there are a number of issues that I had not anticipated. 1. It is very difficult to park near the property. We had to park in a side street off the main road. 2. It is quite a hike to Weymouth - luckily there is a good bus service 3. The bed is just a futon, with a thin mattress. I did not sleep at all well as it was so uncomfortable. 4. The seating ...

    The fresh flowers and biscuits were very welcome. The property is fairly well appointed, in the main, and was clean enough. However, there are a number of issues that I had not anticipated. 1. It is very difficult to park near the property. We had to park in a side street off the main road. 2. It is quite a hike to Weymouth - luckily there is a good bus service 3. The bed is just a futon, with a thin mattress. I did not sleep at all well as it was so uncomfortable. 4. The seating arrangements are very uncomfortable. It is not possible to sit for long at the table. Some proper chairs would be good. 5. The television is impossible to watch, as the reception is so poor. 6. It is quite difficult to cook anything substantial with just one saucepan! Furthermore, the lights draped around the mirror didn’t work as they need new batteries, and the kettle needs de-scaling. I really wish I could say something positive but The Kiln House is just not a comfortable place to spend a holiday, and I was very disappointed.

    - Ailsa, June 2024

    Thank you for your feedback. We feel the issues you have raised are unfair. For example, (1) you say it was difficult to park near the property and yet off- road parking on our private drive is available to all guests something I confirmed to you verbally upon your arrival. This allotted parking space remained empty throughout your visit. (2) The seafront is a short bus ride away as described in the property details and as you say there is a good bus service from outside the property. (3) We have only ever received positive feedback about the bed but we are sorry if it was not to your liking. (4) The dining area and seating remain exactly as seen in the property photographs. (5) No guests have ever mentioned poor TV reception. We were not aware that you had problems and wish you had let us know so that we could have been given the opportunity to solve them for you during your visit. (6) There are at least three saucepans in the Kiln House. We were unfortunately not aware that the batteries in the fairy lights ran out but they were checked before your arrival. We work hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay in the Kiln House and are very sad to hear that you were so disappointed. Property Owner

Summary

  • Situated in the grounds of the owners home
  • Single-storey
  • One double bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • TV and Wi-Fi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off Road Parking for 1 car
  • Patio area
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.4 miles

The property

Tucked away down a quaint passageway on the edge of the seaside town of Weymouth is this heart-warming, self-contained annexe, The Kiln House.

Formerly a working pottery, this romantic hideaway for two is perfectly placed for accessing the delights of Weymouth or Dorchester whilst enjoying all the benefits of a quiet rural location.

After a day spent walking the surrounding lanes and meadows, kick off your boots and head to the open-plan living space, where you can relax in an armchair and ponder the holiday thus far distracted a little no doubt by a selection of beautiful ceramics made on site or perhaps the idyllic view through french windows that open onto a secluded patio.

Clear the dining table and plan an agenda for the rest of the holiday, or step over to the kitchen and rustle up a hearty feast.

The bedroom features a double bed and comes with ample storage space for your personal items.

Step out to the patio and enjoy a drink from the bistro table and chairs beneath a spreading beech, undisturbed but for an occasional squirrel or the sound of a woodpecker at work in the nearby walnut tree.

Just up the road lies a friendly convenience store where you can pick up any essentials, or head to one of the local pubs, The Royal Standard or The Old Ship for delicious comfort food and ale.

Weymouth town itself comes lined with a wealth of fine spots to eat, drink, and shop the days away.

The sea front is just a short bus ride away, as is the county town of Dorchester, both destinations being accessible from nearby bus stops or Upwey train station.

If you’ve arrived at the Kiln House via bus or train and want to access some of the area’s more remote locations, fear not since Dorset Vehicle Rentals are also a short walk away where you can hire a car for a day or two.

If you feel like taking things a little more slowly you can walk to the seafront via local footpaths that follow the course of the River Wey and the peaceful reed beds of Radipole Lake (keeping a sharp eye open for herons, egrets and cormorants along the way) and then past the Swannery and memorial gardens before reaching the award-winning Weymouth Beach where you can lounge on the golden sands or in a traditional seaside deck chair.

Enjoy a romantic retreat at The Kiln House.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WEYMOUTH

Dorchester 7 miles; Bridport 17 miles.

The popular resort of Weymouth makes an outstanding year-round holiday destination, with a wide variety of attractions on offer, appealing to all tastes and ages. The glorious golden sandy beaches have excellent facilities for all kinds of watersports, whilst from the picturesque, bustling harbour you can take regular fishing trips. A short drive takes you to Portland Harbour, and the rugged “Isle” of Portland, linked to Weymouth by the dramatic Chesil Beach. Visit Dorchester, Thomas Hardy’s “Casterbridge”, only 7 miles away, or take a journey along the scenic coastal road and call in at Abbotsbury Swannery and Subtropical Gardens. Alternatively, just head down to West Bay - the views of the stunning Dorset Heritage Coastline are not to be missed!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas